CS321 : Extended Reality

Spring 2024
Instructor: Jordan Tynes

jtynes@wellesley.edu

Welcome to CS 321

Each type of engagement is described directly below. Details about each day will be updated frequently.

  • Generic placeholder image
    In-Person Meetings:
    Please note annoucements regarding meeting location, as it will alternate between two locations. Please show up a few minutes prior to the start of class (see note about grading/evaluation) and be ready to engage in discussion. Reading and viewing materials may will be linked from the schedule below.
  • Generic placeholder image
    Unity Projects:
    You will learn to use various aspects of the Unity Game Engine throughout the term. Technical instruction will be provided during class and, unless otherwise noted, this portion of the course will be recorded and shared for your reference. Attendance is still required so you may fully leverage lab resources.
  • Generic placeholder image
    Critical Analysis:

    You will be required to assess various virtual reality experiences and apply concepts learned through lecture, discussion, writing, and readings to build upon our collective understanding of immersive technologies.

    You will be required to present your research during class and in the form of written essay.

Schedule:

Subject to Changes!

Week 1:

Mon. Jan. 22
Welcome to CS321
"The Ultimate Display"
Assigned Reading:

Bailenson: Ch. 2

Thur. Jan. 25
VR Demo Playground
Assigned Reading:

Riggs pgs. 1 - 56


Week 2:

Mon. Jan. 29
Intro to Unity
Tech Link:

Intro to VR in Unity

Thur. Feb. 1
Intro to Probuilder and 3D
Tech Link:

Probuilder, Terrain, Materials


Week 3:

Mon. Feb. 5
Standard Interaction
Tech Link:

Chair Demo

Thur. Feb. 8
Part 1 Demo & Framing the Experience
Assigned Reading:

Riggs: pgs. 57 - 96


Week 4:

Mon. Feb. 12
Materials, Audio, Text
Tech Link:

Audio, Text, and Particle Systems

Thur. Feb. 15
Animation, Modalities
Tech Link:

Elevator Anims, Hover Events, Modalities


Week 5:

Tue. Feb. 20
Researching Immersive Tech
Assigned Reading:

Bailenson: pgs. 76 - 92

Thur. Feb. 22
Part 2 Demo & Creating Meaningful Mechanics
Assigned Reading:

Corning Museum VR

Tech Link:

Unity Events and Custom Functions


Week 6:

Mon. Feb. 26
Button Mapping
Assigned Reading:

3D Interfaces: Ch. 7

Tech Link:

TBD

Thur. Feb. 29
Research Paper Topic Proposal Due 
Sensation of Presence
Assigned Reading:

Riggs: pgs. 98 - 134


Week 7:

Mon. Mar. 4
Instantiation
Tech Link:

TBD

Thur. Mar. 7
Physical Interactiveity & Avoiding UI
Tech Link:

TBD


Week 8:

Mon. Mar. 11
Build & Final Lab
Tech Link:

TBD

Thur. Mar. 14
Part 3 Demo
Assigned Reading:

Bailenson: Ch. 10


Week 9:

Mon. Mar. 25
Storyplexing and Ideation
Thur. Mar. 28
Bring Storyplex Documents to class
Immersive Narrative
Assigned Reading:

TBD


Week 10:

Mon. Apr. 1
Raycasting
Assigned Reading:

Riggs: pgs. 136 - 182

Tech Link:
TBD
Thur. Apr. 4
Grayboxing Due
Raycasting Pt.2
Assigned Reading:

Bailenson: pgs. 228 - 246

Tech Link:

TBD


Week 11:

Mon. Apr. 8
The Storyplexing Mindset:
Tools for Development & Integrating Accessible Design
Assigned Reading:

Bailenson: pgs. 92 - 107

Thur. Apr. 11
No Class
Enjoy Ruhlman!

Week 12:

Mon. Apr. 15
No Class

Enjoy Marathon Monday!

Thur. Apr. 18
Research Paper Draft Due 
No Class 
Lighting & Effects
Tech Link:
Misc Lighting & Effects

Week 13:

Mon. Apr. 22
Prototype Demonstrations & Feedback
Assigned Reading:

Riggs: pgs. 183 - 210

Thur. Apr. 25
Final Lab and Tech Misc
Tech Link

TBD


Week 14:

Mon. Apr. 29
Final Demos
Fri. May 3
Playable Media Open House